WHY BLOG?

I spend most of my day taking care of Princess A and Freckles. It is hard work so I sleep when the Princess sleeps. When she goes to bed at night I get my work done and then spend about 5 hours on my mom blog.

Some days I am like WHY THE HELL AM I DOING THIS? I have enough on my plate. So here is my list of why I blog.

1. It forces me to recognize how my daughter is changing a little bit every day and love everything that is special about her.

2. It gives me a creative outlet and a voice. I am not just a Princess A’s mom… even though I mostly talk about her.

3. It gives me a place to vent… productively.

4. It reminds me to take care of myself and try to do something for myself every day. Whether that is putting on makeup, dressing glam, a shower, yoga, or sleep.

5.It reminds me that I have an awesome family!

6. Most importantly my mom blog has connected me to awesome people from all around the world who give me love, support, and advice. You guys are so glam.

What do you do for yourself? And if you blog why do you blog?

Stay Glamorous,

Shannon

16 responses to “WHY BLOG?

  1. I have all the same reasons! I’ve found it to be a great outlet, especially when I’ve had a rough day and not much “me” time. And it’s always great hearing from other moms and sharing each other’s stories because it’s so much harder to keep in touch with anyone I was friends with before Rayne. It’s a great way to feel connected. It’s nice feeling like you have a voice at the end of each day. Being a busy, exhausted mom gets draining and sometimes you get so wrapped up in it you lose yourself and your voice. So I definitely agree 100%!

    • Agreed… and for me it’s hard because none of my friends have kids.

      • It’s the opposite for me. Most of my friends have children, some even have more than one! I would’ve thought that’d mean we’d spend more time together for our kids to play and swap advise, but we really just went our separate ways. And the ones that don’t have any children understandably sort of drifted away. I guess that’s just what happens when you grow up and end up on different levels in life. But the good news is you can always make new friends!

  2. One major one is that I know I’m damaged inside by some of life’s arrows, but by blogging and opening up about how I’m responsible for all the things that are wrong in my life, I hope to repair the parts that are damaged and replace the ones that are missing. I also blog because I find that when I speak, my words fall on deaf ears, but when I write, people listen and they understand. Another reason I blog is to keep my sanity through some painful and stressful times, including the fact my son is grown now and will soon be on his own. I guess like anyone, there are so many reasons. One thing I’m thankful for is that blogging has brought me closer to some really wonderful people from all over the world and I’ve learned many lessons from them.

  3. Why do I blog?? I started out because I wanted to share my Monkey love with the world. Then I wanted to work on fixing myself. Then I just decided to heck with that, I blog because I want to be bringing knowledge to others, share music and awesome pics with others. I have been told that I do it to cause drama. I say that they are just jealous. Tis a great thing and I’m glad to share my stories with lots of people. I just love having fun. Keep up your reasons for blogging. It makes me have to get out of my room and get on puter to get this done. So that’s a big plus for me.

  4. I blog primarily to get stuff out of my head, to share the daftness of my life and hopefully make people laugh, but every now and then throw in something deep/sad/awful because that’s what life does to me. I find its even more important to unclog at those times and whether people read it or not is not important, just so long as I get it out of my head.

  5. I blog to keep our family and friends included in the growth of our children and our growing family. None of our family live in the same state, so they can all go to the ‘ol blog and see how the gals are doing. Don’t get me wrong, I love talking to my family on the phone, but if I had to call 50 people every time a child takes a first step, or says their first word, I wouldn’t be giving my kids the attention they deserve.
    I also agree, it helps me to vent. I can say what I need to say, and feel heard. As a stay at home mom, I sometimes feel like I only talk to babies all day, 7 days a week. But having a blog allows me to speak “grown-up,” even if it is only to the internet world.

  6. I don’t blog often for the reason that I am not dedicated to it. I do however have a journal that I write letters to my son in. I started it when I was pregnant. I am planning on giving it to him when he graduates h.s. or maybe when he has children of his own. For me, I do my nails, my eyebrows, or whatever when he is in the bathtub (he is three). I sit in the hailway, if the fumes will bother him. That way I can see him and be there for him if he needs me, but I am still getting the pampering that I crave. I also do other creative things so that I don’t lose who I am as a person.

  7. I like to take a shower everyday, before 2 in the afternoon, to make me feel good.
    But, my favorite thing to do, to make me feel glam is baking!
    I love to bake!
    It relaxes me & makes me feel accomplished.
    I want to blog as well, but I’ve got to have internet for that…
    So, baking will be my fall back.
    Thanks for sharing all you do, its nice to know there are moms out there, who like me live on little sleep & love to talk about their children.

  8. I blog because I am a writer and it’s an outlet.Also it helps me to go back and remember how I handled a parenting scenario in case I encounter it again.

Leave a Reply

