THE BABY IS ALWAYS GREENER ON THE OTHER SIDE

This looks ridiculous.There is perfectly good grass on the cow’s side of the fence but it is going under the fence to try and eat some grass from the other side. There is grass on each side but the cow wants the grass that he doesn’t have. Dumb Cow.

I call the cow dumb but really I shouldn’t because this is exactly what I and other mom’s out there do. Today I saw a girl who looked one but was walking so masterfully I thought maybe she was two. Then I started to get jealous because Princess A isn’t walking yet. I asked the Mom her daughter’s age and she said “Oh, she just turned one.” Inside I turned red with envy because this girl is the exact same age as Princess A and not just walking but walking well.

So to cover my jealousy I said, “Wow, she is such a good walker.”

The girl’s mom turned to me and said, “Yeah, but she doesn’t have any teeth yet which is starting to stress me out. Your daughter has beautiful teeth. How old is she?”

I was flabbergasted because the mom that I was jealous of was jealous of me. Doesn’t she know that teething makes you want to down a bottle of vodka? Doesn’t she know it hurts when a baby with 10 teeth bites you? Doesn’t she know how hard it is to brush a babies teeth? Doesn’t she realize how lucky she is to have a walking baby? Now she gets to buy glam shoes!

No, she doesn’t know these things because she is too focused on the fact that her daughter has no teeth. And I don’t realize how cute my daughter’s teeth are because I am too busy focusing on how she can’t walk.

So just like the old saying goes “the grass is always greener on the other side”…. “the baby is always greener on the other side”.

So Today I have decided to stop focusing and comparing my baby to the greener baby on the other side so to speak. Now I will just focus on Princess A’s beautiful teeth and all of her many talents.

Stay Glamorous,

Shannon

image via Panoramio.com

17 responses to “THE BABY IS ALWAYS GREENER ON THE OTHER SIDE

  1. Thats so true! People always want what they can’t have, or what others have. I gave up on that years ago. Jealousy is such a bad thing, but it’s a human feeling.

    The only thing im jealous of right now. Is that I saw someone on twitter just had icecream…. I want ice cream too. πŸ˜‰

    Ps, your daughter is beautiful in every way!

  2. This is the right attitude. πŸ™‚
    Amelia is such an adorable little girl and you can be proud of her. I’m sure she will walk real soon now.

    • Thanks Nadine. It will be like when i was upset she wasn’t crawling and then when she learned to crawl I was like why did I want her to be mobile? Life was so much easier when she couldn’t move!

      • Yes, IΒ΄d bet that you will be like that.
        It’s pretty exhausting if you donΒ΄t have a quiet moment anymore… πŸ˜‰

  3. Look at it this way, with walking comes running, and usually in the opposite direction from where you want to go, and while your hands are full! I had two early walkers and I spent a lot of time chasing (especially fun when you have a 19 month old and a newborn). I often laugh with my friends because we wait and wait for each milestone, “oh I wish they would crawl, oh I wish they would walk, I wish they would talk! etc…” Then they hit that milestone and all you can think is “I wish they would sit down for 5 mins and stop talking!”
    I have often noticed Princess A’s teeth in your pictures. She has beautiful teeth! For me it was wishing my daughter had hair. She was 3 and I could still barely get tiny pigtails in her hair. Now she has long gorgeous hair with natural highlights some people pay a lot of money to get. Of course for the first 2 years of her life people would comment on my cute little boy, the cute little boy who was wearing a pink dress with flowers. My husband used to get so frustrated! Especially at the one who asked what is HIS name and when I responded “Katelyn” (in a pink flowery dress) she said “but that is a GIRLS’ name”. I just stared at her until it clicked that “he” was a “she”.

    • So true Karen! I will probably be like stop walking so much when princess A learns to walk.
      Princess A doesn’t have a lot of hair and looks good in blue and yellow but even when she is in a pink girly dress people still comment on my handsome son.
      My dog is a boy and he has a blue leash and everyone thinks he is a girl no matter how many times I tell them he is a boy. And he doesn’t wear pants so it’s kind of obvious lol. Go figure!

  4. I struggled with that for a while, as well. My daughter developed physically sooner than other babies, but my friends’ children started talking sooner and way more than she does. I was worried that she was behind. But then I just came to terms with the fact that all children are different and are going to progress when they feel ready. So, now I praise her and am proud for everything she already does so well instead of being disappointed with the things she doesn’t do. Clearly, you have a beautiful little girl that’s totally awesome in her own way! πŸ™‚

    • She is!!! And your daughter is awesome too. I just feel like there is a lot of pressure these days. My Grandma told me when she told my Dad’s pediatrician that she was concerned because my Dad was 2 and not talking. the doctor just said, “Maybe he just doesn’t have anything he feels like talking about.” And then told her he would talk soon. Today I feel like pediatricians would freak out if a kid wasn’t talking by 2.

      • I think a lot of pediatricians are on a different page all together. I’ve noticed between my friends and I, all our doctors are different. There is a lot of pressure these days. Especially with those “My baby can read” kids walkin’ around, spouting out presidents and stuff. And it’s hard for us first time moms because we don’t know what to expect or what’s normal and what to be worried about. I was one of those kids who was having full on conversations like an adult by the time I was 2, but my daughter who is almost 19 months still hardly talks. These days everyone is stressing out about Autism. If a child isn’t saying a certain amount a words by a certain age, people start thinking something is wrong. So I try to be careful of the advise I take from people and just trust my gut. Even though my daughter isn’t jumping on the chatter box train right away, it doesn’t mean she isn’t smart. And just because Princess A isn’t walking, doesn’t mean she’s a slow learner. I didn’t start walking until I was after a year old. And my Mom says I never even practiced, I just got up one day and started walking like I was just waiting until I knew I could. I’m sure she’ll be walking any day now. Then it’ll be even harder to keep up with her! πŸ™‚

      • I really agree with you about pediatricians being different and kids being over diagnosed. I will trust my gut like you said because I always get into trouble when I don’t!

      • Same here. Good idea!

      • This is so true. My daughter will turn 1 on April 5th, and she is “behind” developmentally. She didn’t turn over until 7 mos, just sat up about 3 wks ago, and started crawling about a month ago. She has a physical therapist that works with her once a week, but at the end of the day, there is nothing “wrong” with her. She is complacent, happy, and taking her time.
        My hubby did not sit up until 10 mos, he did not walk until 15-16 mos, and no one thought anything of it. My 3 year old did not walk until 14-15 mos, and she is now as perfect as a 3 year old can be. So no worries. Lots of babies don’t walk at 1 yr. I assure you that my little one won’t be walking in a couple of weeks. She is not even pulling up and standing. Don’t get me wrong, medical progress is awesome, but use your best mommy judgment. They take some things way too seriously. I mean, my pediatrician was upset because my daughter couldn’t say three words or eat a cookie at 9 months. Who the hell cares? If she’s 8 years old and still eating stage 2 baby food then we’ll talk.

      • LOL Jenni… I didn’t even know they were supossed to eat cookies at 9 months

  5. My mom was one of those that worried at first and got a lot of ‘advice’ from people about what I was and was not doing. But, as my mom learned to put it, I talked when I had something to say and I walked when I had somewhere to go. My younger sister crawled earlier than I did, walked earlier than I did, etc. However, I read (and kept reading) earlier than she did. And as one person put it, once we learned to do those things, it just made it much more challenging for my parents. They wished we’d stop talking, stop running, in my sister’s case just calm her butt down.

    Each kid is different. In a few months, your blog will be…”How do I slow Princess A down?” or “Where is the off button?” I think that about my niece a lot. I still have a hard time thinking of the little girl that was having acid reflux issues everywhere now well into her second semester of Kindergarten and working on reading. We can no longer spell around her. I have asked her mom what we can do and she’s not really sure because she picks up a lot of things quickly….or it’s too confusing for the two trying to communicate. So…BEST WISHES on this adventure!!!

    Speaking of kids being different: Amelia’s first birthday made me think of Maya’s. Wouldn’t you know that MOST kids want to mash their cake…not my niece. First of all, she had cheesecake b/c she LOVES it. But the most different is her careful swipes of the special icing and the careful inspections then tastes of cheesecake on her finger. I think her mommy even took her hand and mashed it into the cake so that we had that ‘classic’ first birthday pic.

    • I should of smashed Princess A’s cupcake! Yes, my blog will totally be about Princess A being too fast for me in a couple of months. Your niece had acid reflux too? Princess A did and it was really horrible and scary. So glad that is over with!

      • Yep. She had it pretty bad for the first couple months. Actually I don’t remember how long it lasted but it seemed like forever. She slept sitting up in her car seat during some of the worst parts of it. That was during the times it came up via her mouth and nose and then she’d get really upset making it worse. My sister was quite scared as well.

        Man, I miss that little baby. But, the ‘big girl’ and her family will be visiting in a matter of weeks and I can’t wait to see what she has learned and is ready to teach me at this point.

Leave a Reply

