HAPPY BIRTHDAY PRINCESS A… FROM YOUR NOT SO PERFECT MOM!

Dear Amelia,

I am writing this to you late on the Eve of your first birthday. I don’t know what time it is exactly because your birthday is on Daylight Savings. There should be a rule that no ones first birthday should be on Daylight Savings. I want a full 24 hours to celebrate you.

Anyway, this will be posted at the exact time of your birth 3:11pm. Yes, you were born on 3/11/11 at 3:11pm. That’s pretty awesome isn’t it?

A year ago I was exhausted and relived that you were finally born. The next 3 months were hell and honestly I don’t remember much. All I know was I wasn’t able to care for you in the way I wanted. I wasn’t the “Perfect Mom” I had planned on being when I was pregnant.

The only thing that made me happy was putting you in cute outfits. Soon I started a blog devoted to your cute outfits and my random thoughts. Then I asked for my blog readers to send postcards from all around the world for your birthday. I wanted you to feel that you are loved and part of me was afraid that you wouldn’t feel loved when you grew up and found out I suffered from postpartum depression.  So I figured if you got enough birthday cards for your 1st birthday maybe it would make up for everything?


Silly I know because I really have nothing to apologize for. You were born, I got postpartum depression, it was horrible, I started a blog, and I got better. Honestly, I am glad everything in the past year happened because if I hadn’t felt so sad I wouldn’t have felt the need to write, and then I wouldn’t have a blog, and then I wouldn’t know so many awesome people from around the world.

But don’t get me wrong I LOVE all the postcards and gifts we both received. They are all amazing and will get posted eventually… I am just too busy planning your party to do it.

I also want to thank you for being you. This year was tough but it made me closer to your Dad, I lost myself, and then became the woman I always wanted to be. Being your Mom has made me become a better and stronger person. It’s hard to explain but this video that SuperGlamFan Laura made a video kind of explains it!

I need to go to sleep now so I can greet you in the morning with a big kiss. Tonight when I put you to bed you gave me a ton of huge hugs. It made me so happy to know that you love me despite the mess. Your hugs are the most amazing thing in the world so please tell your teenage self to still hug me even during your rebellious phase.

Good night my little babykins and thank you for teaching me that “Perfect Moms” are boring and over rated because if I was a perfect mom I wouldn’t have this blog or it’s readers and without this blog I wouldn’t have survived the past year.

One last thing and then I promise I will go to bed because Freckles is giving me the stink eye. I love you so much I can’t even  put it into words. Which is hard to do because if you haven’t noticed I am a bit of a talker.

Love,

Mom

P.S. You are a lucky girl because you have a really awesome Dad!

20 responses to “HAPPY BIRTHDAY PRINCESS A… FROM YOUR NOT SO PERFECT MOM!

  1. HAPPY 1ST BIRTHDAY SWEETIE,HAVE A GREAT DAY WITH YOUR WONDERFUL FAMILY. HUGE SNUGGLES AND KISSES PRINCESS A XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX SHAN YOU ARE ALWAYS PERFECT TO ALL THAT LOVE YOU. HAVE A GREAT DAY WITH YOUR DARLING DAUGTER SHE’S A BIG GIRL NOW XXX

  2. Happy Birthday Amelia!! Turning one is a hugh highlife in your life.. Enjoy all your postcards, there are a ton to look at!

    Shannon as for you; you’re awesome at what you do so don’t change a THING! You have overcome so major things involved in parenthood and don’t regret what you went though it only makes you stronger and better! Much love you to you and your family on this joyous occasion, I would tell you to take plenty of pics but I know you will do that already 😉

  3. Happy birthday to Amelia from my 8 months old twins Garance et Janelle and I
    and Kiss to the wonder mom !!!

    BISOUS

    Aurélie from FRANCE

  4. Wendy Williams

    Happy birthday hope you have a wonderful day full of presents and wonderful family and friends

  5. Happy 1st birthday princess A! Have a wonderful day with your family and friends.
    Shannon, you’re probably not the perfect mother, nobody is, but you’re the best mother that Amelia could wish for. She loves you, even if you make little mistakes sometimes.
    Stay the way you are… You´re awesome!

  6. Happy birthday to the little princess. Already 1 year. That this day be beautiful.
    She was spoiled for her birthday

  7. Happy Birthday Princess A. I know it will newly a great day for you, and I think your mom is perfect. 🙂

  8. Lisanne Allard

    Bonne fête Princesse A! (Happy birthday Princess A in french!) First Birthday his a big step in your life, they’re will be obstacles and barriers in it, but i’m sure you will overcome all of them. You even got awesomes parents who will help you through it! Happy birthday again!

  9. I’m happy you started a blog I love reading it.life is tough at times but we all find ways to help relieve the stress as you have and help us to become better at life and as a person.I hope Princess A has a great 1st birthday.I wish I could’ve sent her something as well.

  10. That was really beautiful. I was a lot like that when my oldest was born 71/2 years ago. I got depression so bad that I lost the first couple of months also. I still think about it a little today, but when she looks at me and hugs and kisses me I know that it got better. I remember the important stuff, all her firsts, and had friends and family to help me through it. All she cares about is that I love her with everything I have and that’s all she wants, so Congrats on making the first year being a new mom, you are gonna love what’s in store for you as you watch her grow!!

  11. That’s beautiful!! …

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMELIA!!! HAPPY FIRST YEAR OLD!!! =)
    AND CONGRATULATIONS SHANNON AND AARON,FOR YOUR FIRST YEAR AS PARENTS! (AMAZING ONES!) AND FRECKLES…HAPPY FIRST YEAR AS BIG BROTHER! =)

    …kisses,love and good wishes from Argentina! ♥

  12. Happy Birthday, Amelia! May you have a great first birthday with your friends and family and my you have many more 🙂

  13. HAPPY BIRTHDAY Princess!! Hope your first birthday is an amazing one, for you and your whole family. Big hugs to all of you: Amelia, Shannon, Aaron and of course Freckles! Enjoy this day mommy and daddy, your little miracle is already a year old.

  14. What an absolutely beautiful letter! I love that she’ll get to read that someday, it’s perfect. Happy Birthday Amelia, and congratulations to Shannon, Aaron, and Freckles!

  15. HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMELIA!

    It’s a beautiful letter Shannon, and nobody is perfect you know…
    I hope it’s a birthday you’ll never forget =)

    *I do even see my drawing and postcard on the table.. yeah =D*

  16. Beautiful…..inspiring……amazing……Shannon, you rock! Amelia is one very lucky little girl. And I can’t help feeling lucky too for having the chance to read your blog and getting to know you.

    Hugs & kisses to Amelia (smother her in them) and a good belly rub for Freckles. Cheers to you and Aaron for having such an awesome daughter. And an extra pat on the back for you for having such a fabulous sense of style and sharing it with your little Princess and all of us. 🙂

  17. Happy 1st Birthday Amelia. (Joyeux Anniversaire !!!) Have a good day and enjoy it!!
    Your letter is so beautiful. You are a great mom!! 🙂
    This video is very touching, I love it!!
    Hugs from France.

  18. Happy 1st Birthday Princess A! 🙂 Congrats on making it through the first year, Shannon & Aaron! Hope her party turned out as special and memorable as you wanted it to be!! A college friend of mine that’s a SAHM makes purses, quilts etc and has made an Olivia purse before – did you stick to that theme? 🙂

  19. I hope today was wonderful and stored away in your heart and mind. I don’t believe there’s such a thing as a perfect mom but in my opinion those that try their best come closest. Princess A is lucky to be surrounded by love and I’m sure she’ll realize it, at least until she’s a teenager and knows more than you. 🙂

    Happy birthday, Princess A! And happy first year of parenthood to you, Shannon, and husband Aaron.

Leave a Reply

