BE A WORK OF ART

One should either be a work of art, or wear a work of art. ~ Oscar Wilde

I believe the above quote to be true. I love to wear works of art but can’t do it everyday… or even once a year because real handmade works of art that you can wear usually cost $1,000 and up and I’m not a Beyonce Mom.

I can be a work of art though which is way cooler. Anyone can put on an expensive dress but someone with real style can take a bunch of pieces together and make a glam ensemble. We are just like painters. We have our blank canvases ,ourselves, and then we can choose different colors to paint with in the form of shoes, jewelry, hats, clothes, sunglasses, and other fab items.This is empowering because to be a work of art you can go to a thrift shop or Target and put together a unique outfit… that’s all you need yourself and your style… not a big bank account.

The above painting is by Picasso. I would say this is me most days. Colorful, mismatching, and disjointed in fun way. I like this particular painting because the women in front of the mirror and the woman in the mirror are completely different looking. Meaning we may see ourselves as ugly but we are all really beautiful so let’s all stop seeing our negative reflection and work hard to see the positive image of ourselves.Other days I try to be like a Degas painting because I love all things tulle and pink.This is my favorite Degas dancer painting because the featured woman is a redhead!!!But today the outfit I painted for myself reminded me of Van Gogh’s flower paintings. I am a big Van Gogh fan and sometimes when I am having a bad day I like to pretend I am a pretty flower in one of his paintings.So I hung out with some flowers and afterwards I felt good because I think I did a great  job of being a work of art!

Shoes- $69 Bass via Piperlime.com

Fake Fur Legwarmers- Betsey Johnson (Gift)

Tights- $14.99 Express

Dress- Tracy Reese (Gift)

Headband- $15 Urban Outfitters

Stay Glamorous,

Shannon

paintings via howstuffworks.com

10 responses to “BE A WORK OF ART

  1. Love that dress!
    You & Princess A are glam works of art…

  2. I couldn’t agree more! And it looks like we like the same painters… I ABSOLUTELY adore Degas dancers, Picasso vision and Van Gogh sunflowers!!!!! I wish I could own one of these masterpiece….

  3. The dress in the last pic is awesome! I´ve never seen such gorgeous clothes here in germany. 😦 I should do a little shopping tour in New York. 😉

  4. Love the analogy and your dress. I’d never heard of the designer and had to look it up. Very nice!

  5. Love the photos! Another addition of things we have in common: Degas and Van Gogh. I love their paintings, among those of many other painters, but Picasso…well, he disturbs me. I don’t really like his paintings.
    When I have ‘ugly days’ I usually think of Frida Kahlo’s ‘Two Fridas’. I cannot explain why…I just do.
    Love the dress and I wish I could make myself wear more dresses and skirts, but I guess I’m too comfy in trousers :=/

  6. My Monkey jack loved the picasso!!

  7. Love the dress babe…

    I really do wish all women could see their beauty, its so sad when they are blinded by the media and societies warped views.

Leave a Reply

