I WANT A HOT BOD

The Husband Aaron posted this on facebook today I wish I had a credit for it but I don’t. I love this because it made so many things I think about every day in my head about my body image click in an instant.

When I lived in Kansas I was made fun of from first grade to my freshman year of high school for being fat. Then I decided I was done being made fun of for my body and clothes and enrolled in a boarding arts school. Things were not perfect (for instance many of the dancers had eating disorders) but at least everyone dressed uniquely. I met a lot of awesome people and stopped feeling bad about being picked on in Kansas because it forced me to find another option which led me to so many awesome people.

When I went to New York University and the Stella Adler Conservatory it was a different story. I was told by so many teachers that I was so talented but I just needed to loose 5 pounds. When I lost 5 pounds I was told I needed to lose just a little more. This kept going on until I developed an eating disorder. Then I was really thin and guess what… my teachers said I was really talented but I just needed to gain some more weight because I looked too frail. I wonder how that happened? The only real lesson I learned in college is that you can never make everyone happy so you should just focus on making yourself happy.

Eventually, I found treatment for my eating disorder and recovered. It took a lot of work. Part of my program had me meet with a nutritionist. I found out that before I had the eating disorder I wasn’t eating very healthy either. For example, I wasn’t getting enough water or fruits and vegetables. She also let me know that I probably shouldn’t eat fried fast food for every meal which was shocking to me!

When I took the nutritionist’s advice I actually turned out to be a size 8 or 10 ,depending on the designer, which was smaller than I was when I first enrolled at NYU. I found that if I just focused on nutrition as opposed to being thin I looked really hot and felt better. This actually made me a little sad though. If my teachers had just talked to me about being healthy or I was taught nutrition in school maybe this whole thing could have been avoided. Instead, I was just told loose weight and I did but because I was young and uneducated in nutrition I did it in a way that was bad for my body and actually made me hate myself.

Now I am back to a size 10 after having the baby. During the pregnancy I tried to not focus on how much weight I gained but instead to focus on nutrition. This resulted in me gaining 100 pounds… that is not a typo. Once I had the baby I was nervous about how I looked but instead of going on a crash diet I decided to focus on nutrition again and I was able to loose the baby weight. Now is my baby perfect and look the same way it did before the baby.? NO… I have stretch marks, my feet are bigger than before, and my stomach is nowhere near as tight or flat as it once was. But, I feel good and I am happy with myself and honestly I think that’s what makes people attractive because I get way more compliments now than when I was a starving size zero.

So when I saw this on facebook today it really hit me because as a child I always wanted to be glamorous like Elizabeth Taylor. I actually have the same birthday as her and was very sad when she passed. Even when I was surviving on celery sticks I still wanted watched her movies and dreamed of being just as fab as her… so why did i starve myself and try to look like the exact opposite of her? I will never know exactly what snapped in my head when I decided to have an eating disorder but I am actually glad it happened because I came out of it tougher and way healthier.

So no matter what size you are you should be confident in yourself and not try to change your body type because there is only so much you can change about your body and the real thing that makes people sexy is their personality and confidence. Also, i don’t want people to think everyone should be curvy like Marilyn Monroe. At the same time she was popular Audrey Hepburn was also huge and she was very thin and petite. I just want to encourage my readers to be confident in themselves because if you don’t love yourself how can you expect anyone else to?

Stay Glamorous,

Shannon

30 responses to “I WANT A HOT BOD

  1. Beautifully said Shan! More women need to aspire to what true beauty is, the inner glow of a healthy body & the confidence to flaunt it. Ps I think you look fabulous, just like a woman that’s had a baby should look, curvy!
    Marilyn was a size 12. Suck on THAT Hollywood Stick Figures!

  2. I’ve seen it on Facebook a few days ago and it changed my view…When I thought about Marilyn Monroe I always thought she had “that much” more weight than the models today…I hope you understand what I mean. I think the women in the bottom look fabulous!!! I’m around size 10 myself and I don’t feel comfortable because all my fat is around my stomach and it’s not so nice when people wish you all the best for your pregnancy if you’re not about to get a baby πŸ˜€
    I try to lose weight with sports and healthy food (but I’m too much into junk food xD) but never want to look like Keira or any of the other girls…They look like ghosts

    • OMG I totally relate. Before I was pregnant everyone thought I was pregnant and offered me a seat on the subway. When I got pregnant at first I felt sick and lost some weight and then no one offered me the seat on the subway because they didn’t think I was pregnant lol. People are so dumb. Now if people I ask me if I am pregnant I just say “No, are you?”

  3. Amen! I couldn’t have said it better… that’s just what I think. I’ve written about a topic similar to this in my blog some years ago – with photos of my ball-outfits.

    I’m a size 10 (mostly) and I don’t like paper-thin women. My best friends are actually larger than me (before my preg. it was the other way round) but the fact that they gained about 20 pounds doesn’t make them less beautiful and I can imagine that they will look beautiful and amazing in their ball-dresses on saturday (I’ll post photos).

    Your statement is great and I think it will help many women to see things differently.

    PS: In case you’d like to – you can click on my name, then you can see my blog – there’s also something about my little sweetie Lillian, including photos. Just if you want to take a look. πŸ˜‰

  4. Wow, this is amazing. When you really think about it, we should be focusing on “things the celebrities have that we don’t” But more as each person as an individual that has features that make them beautiful. Features that aren’t always physically, but more personality wise. Because, even though people are attracted to the physical, the physical isn’t going to wake you up in the morning and tell you everything they love or have the qualities you love. That’s going to be the person inside.

  5. “The only real lesson I learned in college is that you can never make everyone happy so you should just focus on making yourself happy.” – Thank you for this sentence! πŸ™‚ So true! I follow your blog now for a while and I just LOVE it! It brightens my day up every day! You are an amazing person, Shannon! Stay exactly as you are! You are fabulous & glamorous the way you ARE! πŸ™‚ Love from Cleveland! Doreen (:

  6. I think it’s gross looking to look all bony and sick..

  7. Thanks for keeping it real and reminding everyone what it truly means to be beautiful. (pregnancy is rough, as are other stressful situations that cause you to yo-yo back and forth- hated having to buy all new shoes after buying all new clothes for the redistribution of weight- you can weigh the exact same amount as pre-baby, but it’s all in a different place.)

    • I know… that’s why I am starting an ebay store. None of my shoes or clothes fit anymore and I can’t just buy all new clothes because I have a baby and limited budget!!!! Also, my old clothes are fab so hopefully someone else can enjoy them.

  8. Shannon noone could put this any better in words. You wrote exactly how I feel! I am not a tiny skinny person and I’m told I look pregnant by my hubby all the time and I’m not. I just tell him to shut up and leave me alone, I’m okay with my body. There are times that I wish that I didn’t have a fat tummy but I get over it. Thanks for helping me feel better about myself! Much love πŸ™‚

  9. WELL WRITTEN!!!! Society, fashion mags, tight-clothed actresses and actors on TV and movies don’t help. I didn’t love myself till I was 30, but then I had enough. that isn’t real life. We aren’t all airbrushed and have clothes tailor made for us.

    Guys don’t want skin and bones, they don’t want a woman who obsesses over her looks. They want a confident women who they be themselves with. Mu hubby loves my body more now than he did when I was always dieting. After I had my son, and went through all the IVF treatments, I gained so much weight, but I wouldn’t change it for anything inthe world. It was all for the right reasons. Now a size 16/18 I feel so beautiful. Sure I could get healthier, but I love my body, I love my mind, I love who I am.

  10. Absolutely amazing writing!! I relate because of my own issues with eating disorders in the past. I applaud your honesty and integrity and love you!!! THANK YOU! for this. Keep being your amazing self. =-)

  11. God I know where you’re coming from Shannon. It’s een ‘suggested’to me that I lose a few kilos before I compete this year and I simply refused. I haven’t heard back from the beanpole who suggested it and I am determined to win on my skill, last time I checked that is what it was all about. I was, due to modelling was anorexic from my late teens to mid-twenties and I vowed I’d never walk that path again. Besides that I love my curves as I’ve earned ’em lol. Xxx

  12. Very well put. I am a large-sized person and some medical issues make it hard for me to lose weight and some medicines I take for these same medical issues cause me to gain weight. Anyway, I do want to lose weight (a lot of it actually), but not sure where to start. Can’t afford a nutritionist and thinking about weight watchers (which I have lost 40 lbs in the past), but just not sure. Really the point is regardless of what a person weighs, they are the same person whether they are a size 2, 6, 10, 16, 20, 24…etc. The PROBLEM lies in explaining this to other people (especially men) because America is so stuck on skinny is good and fat is bad that they don’t realize the truth of the matter. Great post Shannon…it means a lot to see that some people do realize what really matters in judging a person. πŸ˜€

    • Your are welcome. I have heard that weight watchers is good but always put your health before being thin πŸ™‚

      • Not only America is stuck on “skinny is good” – Germany too, for example. You always get odd looks when you wear a short dress and are not a size 2, 4 or 6.
        You can’t find pretty clothes easily for size 16 and up. My mother’s a size 20 but when she goes to the check-up once a year and her results are more than good, so what! I help her find beautiful clothes and always tell her, that she’s pretty – no matter what other people say.

        A friend of mine tried Weight Watchers and lost 40 pounds. Everything is based on healthy cooking and they got some easy recipes. πŸ™‚

      • Yes, I have heard good things about weight watchers but can not speak from experience. That sucks that Germany is thin obsessed too keep on being fab!

  13. I know the pain of weight gain and loss all too well. But it only has a little bit to do with what I eat. Most of my changes in weight have been caused by medication. I had to endure 15 years of hormone treatments during high school and university. Some of the treatments caused me to gain weight and others caused me to lose it. There was one that caused me to gain weight and when I stopped taking it, I lost 27lbs in 3 weeks and ended up 10lbs below what I should be. It took me 2 years to gain the 10lbs back. I finally stopped all hormone treatments when I was 30 years old but by then I had developed another problem. I ended up with fibromyalgia. Because of it, I had to start a whole new regime of treatments, including an antidepressant and once again I began to gain weight. In total I’ve gained 70 pounds. And I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to lose it again. I’d like to, but it would mean having to stop my antidepressant and I can’t do that. It’s the only thing keeping my fibromyalgia in check. Without it I probably wouldn’t be able to get out of bed in the morning. So I’ve learned to live with the weight gain. And because it’s caused by medication, I don’t really have the problems usually caused by excess weight (i.e. high cholesterol or the threat of diabetes). Of course I do try to eat as healthy as I can so that helps. It would be nice to be a little thinner, but I’m not going to stress about it. Why should I when it’s only going to make me miserable. I’d rather be overweight and happy. It’s like you said, if you don’t love yourself, how can you expect others to love you? You can have the hottest body in the world, but it won’t mean a thing if you don’t have a beautiful mind, heart and personality to go with it.

    • so awesome mary-cate. When I was a zize 0 I was so unhappy… I lost friends and no one wanted to date me… not that men should be the reason to be a normal weight. I am such happy now and so proud of my body!

Leave a Reply

