PANTHER MOM

I have been doing some research about panthers lately to try and understand my panther obsession. Besides, the fact that Marc Jacobs made a lot of cute panther pieces for his Fall 2011 collection there has to be something else behind my craze. I did some research and found out that although panther’s aren’t the biggest in the cat family they can still take down big animals like giraffes or antelopes because they are so smart. Because of this wit and stealth they are one of the most feared creatures in the animal kingdom!

Then I did some thinking. A while back the “tiger mom” was very popular. I agree with a lot of the things she said but it’s hard for me to see myself as the biggest cat in the world. I have confidence but new York City is like a huge jungle and I am not by any means the richest, most powerful, or prettiest mom in the jungle.

Fortunately, I am smart and like the panther use my wit to get through a lot of tough situations. When I got sick after Princess A’s birth instead of calling an expensive baby nurse like a lot of NYC moms I called the grandparents in. They really enjoyed taking care of Princess A and the only payment they accepted was holding their first grandchild. This is just one of the pinches I have found myself in were I have to find my way out of a tough situation and don’t have the ability to just pay someone to fix the problem like a lot of Manhattan moms have the luxury of doing.

I also do this with fashion. Lots of people either buy their clothes full price or assume they can’t afford it. I make friends with people, am constantly searching sale racks, and don’t turn my nose at cheaper stores like Target.

In the above outfit I got the panther hair clip at Century 21. This is a discount store in Manhattan that if you ever visit NY you have to experience. Anyway, the hair clip was $70 but I got it for $20.

The nails are Minx for Marc by Marc Jacobs that my fabulous friend Langley got me for free.

The shirt is from Target. It looks like it is the exact same pattern as my nails and that it could be really expensive and from Marc Jacobs… but nope I got it from Target for $19.99.

So wherever your jungle is remember… You don’t have to be the biggest cat to survive… just the smartest!

Stay Glamorous,

Shannon

14 responses to “PANTHER MOM

  1. That is very wise and very cool! I live by that at times when I get in a tough spot, I go straight for my mom!

  2. so fun!
    I love your vision of the mother panther! or the resourceful mom!
    Century 21, one of the stores that shocked me most of my life! size, selection, price! I went there last April and since I hardly do more shopping, no taste, I find it all too expensive since! And I confess that I had cracked for several outfits, suddenly my wardrobe is full!
    Your shirt is so beautifull, i love him !!

  3. congrats darlin i love the nails so much and i’m glad that you are feeling up to the task of being a panther mom. Keep up being you.

  4. I like your post.

    “You don’t have to be the biggest cat to survive… just the smartest!” That it’s so true.

    Your nails are pretty, I like them!!

  5. It’s all about keepin’ it real, which you do Shannon. Over here those mums are called ‘stepfords’ or ‘stepford wives’. All false all the time lol. And I agree with you on target!

  6. You are so right. My obsesion is with mountain lions. Considering I was born and grew up in Wyoming, it makes sense. That and one winter when I was delivering the morning paper I had a stare down with one. Love the hair clip. I am going to try to find one out here.

  7. OMG – you tell it right the way it is!!! I also called my mum in for a two weeks when I had my emergency caesarian and I am too constantly checking sales. Keep on writing and tell us more anout the eay it REALLY is out there for moms! Thankyou so much for that blog!

  8. Hi Shannon,

    It is true that it is true that to be smart enough to survive and I would add, the most cunning.

    I love the leopard barrette, your nails are not bad either. It’s very nice

    kisses

Leave a Reply

